Broadway Motel - Accommodation in Picton, New Zealand Broadway Motel - Accommodation in Picton, New Zealand Broadway Motel - Accommodation in Picton, New Zealand Broadway Motel - Accommodation in Picton, New Zealand Great food & Wine in the Marlborough Region Picton Waterfront - Cafes & Great Sights Marlborough Sounds - New Zealand

Local Events in the Marlborough Region

Guest Reviews for Broadway Motel Picton

Archive

None

Current

“I'd recommend to everyone!”

L0ve2Travel11, Reviewed 25 Aug 2014

Bathroom was great, shower pressure awesome!
I stayed here as I was catching the bluebridge ferry from Picton to Wellington and I'd stay here again! Bed was super comfy, The lady at reception was really nice. I rang her to say I'd be checking in about 8.30 and the said it wasn't a problem and greeted me at reception using my name, which I was impressed by! Excellent customer service. She showed me to my room and gave me some milk and asked if there was anything else.
It was very quiet and parking was not an issue. Bathroom was great, shower pressure awesome!
I'd absolutely stay here again!
Thank you!!

“Best motel in Picton”

djauckland, Revied Aug 14, 2014

clean, modern, quiet rooms with heat pumps. Awesome water pressure.
Stayed here for week, clean, modern, quiet rooms with heat pumps. Awesome water pressure.
Plenty of safe parking with extra wide parking spaces. Will be staying at the Broadway on next visit too. Short flat walk to restaurants and town center. (if they did a cooked breakfast I would have said the Motel was excellent) .

“Great place for Wheelchairs”

AlieAck, Reviewed August 10, 2014

Broadway Motels are set up really well for people with disabilities . The unit was very clean and spacious and the bathroom is really well set up to meet with the disabled persons needs.

Gill had gone to the trouble of turning on the heat pump and the unit was nice and warm when we arrived on a cold winters day. Next time we need accommodation in Picton we will definitely be staying with Gill and the team at the Broadway Motel

“Nice and warm!!”

Royceheal, Reviewed August 9, 2014

Friendly reception, clean room and nice location.
Me and my partner decided to stay in picton. We havnt stayed before so chose at random.

We where very pleased with our choice. We got the honeymoon suite which was great value. It was warm and cosy.

Friendly reception, clean room and nice location. Thanks!!

“Very Helpful”

ChrissieMR, Reviewed August 7, 2014

the services there were fantastic.
My partner and I stayed at the motel on the first weekend of August and the services there were fantastic. The people who own and run the motel were very lovely and friendly. My partner and I went out for a meal one night at the 'Escape To Picton' restaurant and due to the heavy rain and gusty wind our car wouldn't start after our meal so we walked back to the motel. The very next morning when the office was open my partner went down to ask them if they could help him jump start the car and bring it back to the motel and so they did. I was very pleased to see the car back and running so for that I was thankful they helped us out.
I will recommend this motel to all of my friends and family.

Room Tip: Well just let them know what you want eg: what level floor you want depending if you want a view or...

“Excellent value for money!”

ju908, Reviewed August 7, 2014

The customer service was exemplary
A spacious, comfortable room with everything you need for a short stay. The room was exceptionally clean and tidy. The customer service was exemplary - nothing was too much trouble. We would definitely stay here again.

“Spacious and Comfortable”

Christchurchbloke, Reviewed August 4, 2014

The unit was clean and comfortable and the heat pump was on
I arrived off a late ferry about 9.30 p.m to a very friendly welcome from one of the hosts. I was asked what type of milk I wanted which I thought was thoughful. The unit was clean and comfortable and the heat pump was on. It was a cool rainy night, so I appreciated that. The rate I paid ($119) was very reasonable and good value for money.

“Surprising”

constantino s, Reviewed July 27, 2014

The shower was incredible, a large shot of relaxing hot water (better than many 5 stars)
I was very surprise of this Motel, I thing you get very good value for what you pay.

My room was spacious, a very comfortable bed, good heating system not very noisy at all.

The shower was incredible, a large shot of relaxing hot water (better than many 5 stars). The people was very nice and kind. Great Choice.

“Perfect Stay”

alanaflint, Reviewed July 25, 2014

The room was exactly what was advertised, it was very comfortable
Very friendly staff upon arrival, advised lots of things to do and see. The hotel was in a great location, 5 minute stroll into town, with amazing views!

The room was exactly what was advertised, it was very comfortable, I wanted to melt away in the bed!

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay with my partner, it is value for money! :)

“Great spacious family unit”

HGeorge2014, Reviewed July 23, 2014

Very clean and easy. Kids loved the big spa tub, bath products and layout was good
I thought this was a great choice for a pre ferry stop over. And the free upgrade to the large family spa unit was perfect.

Very clean and easy. Kids loved the big spa tub, bath products and layout was good.

“Lovely Modern Motel”

Gail13348, Reviewed July 20, 2014

large modern very well appointed unit with a "super" comfortable super king size bed
We enjoyed our two night stay in a large modern very well appointed unit with a "super" comfortable super king size bed.

Very friendly helpful staff. Our only criticism would be the tiny kitchen in comparison to the size of the unit but I think this type of motel is probably designed more for the travelling public anyway. Watch out for your head on the cupboard above the sink!

“Clean place, friendly staff”

WoodysNz, Reviewed July 13, 2014

We would definitely stay there again if visiting Picton
We had a very pleasant weekend at the Broadway Motel. Our room was very comfortable and clean. All staff we encountered were friendly and keen to help. We would definitely stay there again if visiting Picton.

“Great Location, Super Comfy Beds”

Renee R, Reviewed July 12, 2014

Beds were incredibly comfortable - best nights sleep in a long time!
Stayed in a 2 bedroom spa unit prior to catching ferry, then 1 bedroom unit upon return journey. Couldn't fault anything either stay.

Beds were incredibly comfortable - best nights sleep in a long time! We travelled with 3 children and found units to be large enough to accommodate us all. Food outlets and shops 2 minutes walk.

Ferry terminal easy walk, less than 10 minutes. Would definitely recommend. Staff welcoming and friendly, units clean and modern.

“Surely Picton's best”

RaymondH646 Reviewed June 25, 2014

The room was excellent - it was quiet and comfortable
This is a great place to stay when you get off the ferry from Wellington; it's close to the terminal and close to downtown Picton.

The staff were especially friendly and helpful when I arrived earlier than planned and happily pointed me in the direction of local bars and restaurants.

The room was excellent - it was quiet and comfortable, car parking immediately outside the door, and all the facilities you could want for a prolonged stay. Tremendous value for money.

“Terrific stay in Picton”

kiwisontheloose, Reviewed June 22, 2014

I am sure if I could think of anything to improve the motel they would make that happen too
Lovely motel, the staff friendly and acccomodating. It was exceptionally clean and comfortable. Was wondering about the road noise being a problem but it really wasnt. Did hear the train pass by but it was more a slight blip in the sleep because the bed was so comfortable.

Great being "downtown " Picton and handy having supermarket next door. They have really thought of everything to make your stay comfortable, right down to boot, car, boat washing faciilties. I am sure if I could think of anything to improve the motel they would make that happen too. Its just that kind of place.

“5 star plus hotel class!! ”

Sharon-Hugh Reviewed June 12, 2014

Exceptionally clean and tidy.
Comfortably and well equipped. Exceptionally clean and tidy. Fantastic location and quiet. Fantastic shower after 3 hours from North Island to South Island

Friendly and helpful hosts. Can ask for more. Thanks so much.

“Lovely service and location”

Erin_Maz Reviewed June 3, 2014

The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the room was absolutely comfortable
The service at this motel was fantastic. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the room was absolutely comfortable. Although it was very cold outside, the room is set up so that it can be nice and toasty warm when you return!

The bed was huge, soft and clean. The bathroom was also great. We got a room with a spa and it was a very nice treat. I really liked the little fudge chocolates they left for us as well! The two TVs was nice too.

The location was also very nice. There is not much to the main street in Picton, so it was good to be within about a minutes walk from anything, or about 5 minutes from the waterfront. We could even see the sounds from our room.

It was also nice to have the supermarket over the road too because it has a respectable wine selection and plenty more chocolates!

We had travelled to Picton on the Ferry in the morning and left via Ferry two nights later. You don't need a car to enjoy the area, but if you have one there is plenty of parking.

We would definitley stay there again. We recommend Picton as a travel destination for a get away from the hustle and bustle of a city.

“Relaxing holiday”

Bruce M, Reviewed May 1, 2014

The bed was comfy and the large shower superb
A very comfortable room, super clean and everything in pristine condition. The bed was comfy and the large shower superb. A quiet motel that is positioned very close to everything in Picton. Stayed for 5 nights and were really pleased. Would definitely stay there again.

“Couldn't rate them higher!”

Jenny C, Reviewed April 28, 2014

I couldn't rate the comfort and service at the Broadway higher
Booked to come into Picton with my family on the ferry at 11.30pm, my first criteria for a motel was that it be within easy walking distance. On booking at the Broadway and explaining our late arrival I received a cheery "no trouble" acknowledgement email saying they were used to late arrivals and explaining their procedures.
In fact due to bad weather our scheduled ferry arrival was put off till 3am. When I updated the Broadway (to stress we still wanted the room!) I was greeted with a confirmation that they would keep the room and an offer of an 11am late check out. A welcome sweetener to what was turning into a bit of a nightmare trip.
In fact, on arriving by foot at the Broadway at 4am (along with several other parties), the manager was up and directed us to our 2 bedroom unit. What bliss. A beautiful, spacious and quiet suite. (So quiet I had to wake the children at 10.20am).
As an added bonus the shower was fantastic, and the plunger coffee provided good. I couldn't rate the comfort and service at the Broadway higher.

“Good Motel in a good location”

Robin C, Reviewed April 16, 2014

Good location, friendly staff.
First time we have stay here.
Good location, friendly staff.
New ish room with good facilities in the hotel.
Short walk to Picton town, ferry etc.
Stay slighty spoilt by bad weather, but it subsided by the time we caught the ferry!

“Broadway motel”

sherree b, Reviewed April 14, 2014

Grate place to stay quiet and comfortable 5 star plus
Fantistic hoast couldnt have been more helpfull . Grate place to stay quiet and comfortable 5 star plus .Conveniently located on the main street within walking distance of all restrants and shops. Owners were so helpfull making sure that we were happy with room and letting us know what was on in piction to see and do.

“Comfortable & Convenient”

703Fordy, Reviewed April 1, 2014

The motel is very comfortable and conveniently located at the top of the main street and is good value
We stayed just one night before catching the ferry to Wellington.
The motel is very comfortable and conveniently located at the top of the main street and is good value.
We had driven from Nelson along Queen Charlotte Sound which is a beautiful drive and although we arrived fairly early we were straight into our room.
This gave us all afternoon to wander around Picton and plenty time to re-organise our bags for the ferry the next day (as we were dropping the car off in Picton)

“fantastic place in picton”

tom b, Reviewed April 9, 2014

It is impeccably clean and extremely comfortable
A fantastic place to stay in Picton. It is impeccably clean and extremely comfortable. It is in a quiet location yet an easy stroll to the downtown and quay area in Picton. We would highly recommend this spot as a location to stay when visiting Picton.

“Excellent friendly efficient comfortable stay”

Claregalwaygirl, Reviewed March 29, 2014

Local to all town facilities lovely stay and would definitely recommend
Arrived at short notice wrecked having driven for 10 hours .
Lovely room, lovely reception staff very helpful, decent, went the extra mile giving me a couple of slices of bread for toast as I was exhausted.
Local to all town facilities lovely stay and would definitely recommend thank you

“Wonderful stay”

Desley E, Reviewed March 29, 2014

The room was well presented, warm and well equipped.
We stayed three nights at the Broadway after booking online. We had a wonderful pleasant stay.
The room was well presented, warm and well equipped. Broadway Motel is well located with a supermarket across the road and a short walk to the marina.
We would definitely stay at Broadway again.

“Perfect Accomodations”

LESCOTT1, Reviewed March 26, 2014

The reception was wonderful
We stayed one night in the Broadway Motel. We were taking the ferry the following morning to the North Island.
The reception was wonderful, we were given our room right away, and it was only steps from where we parked the car, which was very convenient. The room was large, had a good kitchen, and the bathroom was also very nice.
The man who checked us in was very helpful, suggesting places to go to eat. Wifi access was easy, and free. Checkout was also very quick and easy. We enjoyed our stay very much, and wished we could have spent more time in Picton.

“Wonderful”

Barn153, Reviewed March 26, 2014

Our room was very spacious and immaculate.
Had a thoroughly hassle-free and pleasant experience dealing with Broadway Motel.

I booked by phone and explained we would be late arriving and leaving early the next morning. We were emailed clear instructions on what to do. Our room was very spacious and immaculate.

The motel is in a very handy location to the shops and to the ferry terminal.

“Very nice place to stay in Picton”

Westfun, Reviewed March 23, 2014

The hosts were very helpful and friendly
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Picton.

The location of the property was very convenient, the room was very clean and comfortable and well equipped.

The hosts were very helpful and friendly as well.

“a nice place for your family”

jamesshi, Reviewed March 20, 2014

i am very impressed with the hospitality
it is well-located in Picton. the motel is well maintained and decorated in a modern and simplistic way. the room is spacious, clean and equiped with everything a family needs for daily life. acoss the street is the biggest supermarket in Picton.
i am very impressed with the hospitality and grateful for its kindness. it offers more than you expect for a vacation with your family.

Room Tip: rooms on the second floor have different layout and with better views.

“Nice relaxing place to stay”

Kevin H, Reviewed March 15, 2014

We highly recommend this motel.
We were greeted with a very friendly welcome by Henry & Donna on our day of arrival and were actually shown to our unit, not that common these days. Jill took over the reins for the rest of our stay (2 nights) whom we also found very friendly and helpful. We found our unit very comfortable and spacious, especially for a studio unit. We couldn't fault the cleanliness and the bed (King) was very comfortable. Only a few minutes walk from all amenities, railway & ferry terminals. We highly recommend this motel. Thanks Henry, Donna & Jill for a nice stay

“Great location”

DameB2013, Reviewed March 15, 2014

Very clean and spacious.
Very clean and spacious. Comfy sofa for relaxing. Plenty of hanging space and good lighting. We liked the fact we were given lots of ground coffee but could have done with a hotplate - but there is a microwave. Free Wifi has a limit on it that ran out VERY quickly which didn't happen in other places. Not fair to criticise this one place as a few of the others we stayed in had limits but loads had unlimited Wifi. We had to sit outside the library here to get it. When away from home for 6 weeks or more do need this sort of facility particularly when asked to review them on here within hours of leaving. Our booking confirmaton states free Wifi but doesn't mention the limit and it was something we made a criteria when we internet booked via Booking.com. However this may be a very personal gripe and I would certainly stay here again. Picton is lovely and the motel is easy walking distance to the little town and lots of lovely walks. You wouldn't think you were in a ferry port. Found Seabreeze a good place to eat - lovely fish.

“Just ok.”

soren0272, Reviewed March 12, 2014

Service was great
Service was great. The manager helped me with my documents scan and printing at no cost.
Internet is limited ( free). When needed more u had to pay extra.
The rooms are adjacent to train track which happened to move at night..... The so called double windows do not really help.
Had no hand/ body cream in the bathroom.

“One of the best hotels I've ever stayed in”

JulesC88, Reviewed March 11, 2014

Exceptionally clean and the grounds are beautiful
What can I say. This hotel is beautiful. Exceptionally clean and the grounds are beautiful. Fantastic location and the staff are absolutely incredible. Jill was outstanding as was the other lady (sorry didn't get her name). I stayed there twice and both times I could not fault it. I would not hesitate in highly recommending this to anyone and I would stay there again in a heartbeat. Thank you so much.

Room Tip: I've stayed twice. Once ground floor and then the 2nd floor. Both exceptional.

“A great place to stay”

MikeTSurrey, Reviewed March 11, 2014

delighted with this excellent motel that provided splendid accommodation
We only stayed for one night, but were delighted with this excellent motel that provided splendid accommodation spacious, well equipped and very clean. - our only reservation is to advise against taking the advice of the Motel on a suitable restaurant to eat at - avoid Oxley's.

“A Really Friendly Motel”

Travellingfriend_8, Reviewed March 9, 2014

Clean, comfortable and a great shower
We stayed four nights--two at the start of our Queen Charlotte Sound 5 day guided walk, and two at the end. It is well located ( 400m from Picton Harbour), and close to all facilities and shops. Clean, comfortable and a great shower, it has very friendly and helpful staff--nothing was too much trouble to them. Well equipped with TV and Wi-Fi, the only downside for some would be the train rumbling past twice during the night/early morning. Would very readily stay there again.

“Great choice!”

redCairns_Australia, Reviewed March 2, 2014

It is very well equipped with modern bathroom & kitchenette appliances
We chose this motel from the Internet never having visited Picton before. It is very well equipped with modern bathroom & kitchenette appliances, had a comfortable bed & sitting areas, pleasant mountain views from our upstairs room, small balcony & has a great supermarket across the road.

Henry the on site manager could not have been more helpful. The fact that WIFI was available was a decider in our choice as always when we are overseas & need to keep connected. We stayed 3 nights and thought it was great.

Would definitely recommend this motel & stay again.

“Very clean and comfortable”

candt1969, Reviewed March 2, 2014

our room which was very comfortable and spacious
We were staying just the one night here. We were shown to our room which was very comfortable and spacious.

It had a kitchenette and a good shower room. There was a supermarket close by. Picton is where the ferry comes into from North Island but it is a very pretty little harbour and a good selection of restaurants.

There are plenty of walks here and great views especially from Queen Charlotte Drive.

“Broadway Picton”

Peter V, Reviewed March 2, 2014

staff went out of their way to ensure we had emergency accommodation
Had a family member fall ill - staff went out of their way to ensure we had emergency accommodation the following night.

Located on main road intersection, but noise is muted and the bonus is that it is a short walk down main street to all the shopping/dining.

“Exactly what we needed!”

Jan G, Reviewed March 1, 2014

Room was spotless and well equipped with everything we needed
We had two brief overnight stays at this lovely motel in Feb 2014. Arrived on the late ferry from North Island and just needed somewhere close to ferry terminal overnight before continuing our holiday south.
Pleasant downstairs room with separate bedroom & bathroom. Room was spotless and well equipped with everything we needed. Nice to be offered a choice of full cream or trim milk and not have to use those horrible little UHT sachets most motels offer.
Our second stay was also brief as we had to catch early ferry next morning back to North Island, so naturally we booked Broadway Motel again as we'd had such a good experience the first time. We were upgraded to a lovely upstairs room - it was a shame we couldn't stay longer to really enjoy it, but once again found it spotlessly clean. Great motel, handy to shops and restaurants so you can walk everywhere once you arrive, lovely reception staff and easy parking. What more could you want!

“lovely experience”

TomoDee, Reviewed February 23, 2014

Lovely clean room, lady on reception was pleasent and helpfull.
Lovely clean room, lady on reception was pleasent and helpfull. We arrived on late ferry from north Island and were given directions to a restaurant. Although they did not provide Breakfast allowed us to park our car for as long as we liked after cheaking out

“Holiday adventure”

eab294, Reviewed February 14, 2014

welcoming owners, perfect in presentation, spotless, so clean and tidy, thoroughly recommend.
This place never disappoints, high standards maintained, great location, welcoming owners, perfect in presentation, spotless, so clean and tidy, thoroughly recommend.

Modern facilities, supermarket right across the road, lovely easy stroll to waterfront, couldn't get better.Everything on hand that you need.

“Ideal top and tail for Queen Charlotte trail hike”

scubafanEngland, Reviewed February 12, 2014

The units are spacious and the small balconies catch the evening sun.
We stayed for two nights overall prior to and after walking the Queen Charlotte Track. The units are spacious and the small balconies catch the evening sun. The supermarket is directly opposite, perfect for picking up a bottle of wine and some nibbles.

We left our bags securely at the motel while away and enjoyed 2 hrs free WiFi. We also accessed a pc in reception which allowed us to maximise the 2 hr WiFi.

It is an easy walk from the bus stop, ferry port and harbour front.

“picton breakaway”

Pete K, Reviewed February 5 2014

great location, very nice room, very clean and great staf
great location, very nice room, very clean and great staff. Love Picton & will be back. Shame the weather spoiled our wee break but had fun anyway. Recommend this motel to anyone and the hosts were very helpful

“Great Holiday”

Grant H, Reviewed February 3, 2014

Very clean,staff friendly, modern facilities and very central location
Great 2 day break for local New Zealanders. Very clean,staff friendly, modern facilities and very central location. Easy 3 min walk into main town area. Nearby supermarket and service station surprisingly quiet

“Great property”

davidrnz, Reviewed January 28 2014

I was very impressed with this property
I spent a night at the Broadway Motel this week. Very nice room, very nice people.

My job takes me to a lot of small towns and finding good accommodation isn't always easy. I'm fussy about where I stay. I was very impressed with this property. I'd recommend it to anyone.

“Nice sized apartment for four people”

Julee037, Reviewed January 27 2014

in the office area there was a small book exchange system which was a really nice touch.
After a trip across the ferry this is a really nice stopover Motel. We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment which was a really nice size to relax in . We could walk the main streets of Picton and are there many very nice options for a meal which is good because the kitchen facilities are very basic. the hosts were lovely and helpful and in the office area there was a small book exchange system which was a really nice touch. It was a shame that we only spent one night because it is a really pretty spot and we would have loved to explore more. There is also a great playground for the kids (young and early tenagers) near the ferry terminal.

Room Tip: It is a port town so you will hear the train but the double glazing really helps to keep the noise t...

“A great place to stay in Picton”

Jenny J, Reviewed January 20, 2014

The motel is handy to all amenities
We recently stayed at Broadway motel with a group of family & friends. The motel is handy to all amenities & the rooms were very clean. Our hosts were very helpful making for a most enjoyable weekend.

We will definitely recommend this motel to others.

“Comfortable and Convenient”

patchycrowsnest, Reviewed January 20, 2014

The units were very clean and fresh and maintained that way throughout our stay
We have stayed at six different accommodation venues in Picton over the past few years and the Broadway Motel compares well. The two units our family occupied were very clean and fresh and maintained that way throughout our stay.

Picton is a small town and it is difficult to escape noise. The Broadway was less noisy than other places we have stayed at. It was pricey for what was provided, but that also is Picton.

It was convenient having the supermarket across the road and it was a 5 minute stroll down to the foreshore and the excellent Maritime Festival which happened to be on the weekend we were there.

“A great weekend”

Sunbrae14, Reviewed January 19, 2014

We will also be recommending the Broadway as THE place to stay
Last weekend we joined several other friends for a couple of days in Picton. We all stayed at the Broadway Motel. Everything about the Motel, including its management and staff helped to make it a memorable weekend that we will definitely repeat, hopefully sooner than later.
We will also be recommending the Broadway as THE place to stay when in Picton.

Room Tip: I am sure the noise from the early morning train would be heard by pretty much everyone in Picton.

“Value Accommodation”

Emma L, Reviewed January 19, 2014

the motel is very clean and comfortable with good kitchen facilities
Someone advised us to stay in Picton rather than Nelson. Not really sure why. There is not a lot in Picton. Having said that the motel is very clean and comfortable with good kitchen facilities, free wifi and even a shaver point in the bathroom. The motel is in walking distance of the shops and restaurants. There is a railway line somewhere behind the motel but the trains don't seem to run late at night so this wasn't a problem. Good value for money.

“Great beds!”

TravellingTony2014, Reviewed January 18, 2014

Location is good and quiet. Would definitely stay there again.
This motel has very good wheelchair access, even in the standard 2 BR unit we stayed in. Staff very helpful. The access to the shower was wide and a shower chair supplied. Location is good and quiet. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ground floor 2 bedroom units have great access for wheelchair and wide shower access too!

“Excellent”

Jakkie2014, Reviewed January 12, 2014

Very clean, comfortable and a great bed
Very clean, comfortable and a great bed to rest you tired body after a long day's driving!

Excellent location and in walking distance to all shops and restaurants. Easy parking and friendly reception.

“one of the best of the trip”

jandalfan, Reviewed January 12, 2014

The bed was excellent. Decor top notch. Wifi was easy
we booked an exec king upstairs. The bed was excellent. Decor top notch. Wifi was easy (4 devices) & fast and very fair data cap. It was a bit close to train tracks but hush glass helped and Picton is so small everyone would have that problem.

No trains woke us so maybe trains don't run at night.

“Short but great stay”

Johnnymac22, Reviewed January 9, 2014

Very clean and well equiped
Excellent location and able to walk to foreshore and shops. Units slightly dark but had everything we needed. Very clean and well equiped.
We were 2 adults and 2 kids and had a one bedroom unit which was small but perfect for a one night stopover.
The lady on reception organised us transport to an early ferry the following morning, and were very pleasant to deal with.
Thanks for a great stay.

“Superb Stay”

Elise O, Reviewed January 8, 2014

Friendly and helpful owners who were prepared to walk the extra mile
Friendly and helpful owners who were prepared to walk the extra mile. We booked for 2 nights but enjoyed Picton and the Broadway so much that we decided to stay another 2 nights.
We had to move to a different unit for 1 night and the owners arranged other accommodation for us for the fourth night (New Years Eve). Spacious rooms, neat garden and they do even cater for smokers by providing ash trays outside!! Will definitely stay there again.

“Modern, clean, friendly owners”

LagoNexus, Reviewed December 14, 2013

The whole motel looks modern with attractive rooms.
The whole motel looks modern with attractive rooms. The 2 bedroom unit we stayed was a reasonable size for a night or two's stay.
The owners friendly and helpful.
The location is a little further away from the harbour than some other accommodation but still an easy walk.
It is right opposite the big supermarket - there is a (probably more expensive) 4 square down the road.
The only downside was that the rear block of units back onto the main highway and train line. The night we stayed one train came through at around 9:30pm and another around 6am. The road was a little noisy but not terrible by a long shot.
We would stay here if we visited Picton again.
We also stayed at the Gateway and I gave reviewed it too.

“Our stay at Broadway Motel, Picton”

ficifolia, Reviewed December 15, 2013

Overall quality of fixtures & facilities were of a high standard
Although we only stayed one night, the quality of this motel was very good. The beds were extremely comfortable and of great size .... Overall quality of fixtures & facilities were of a high standard. No hesitation in recommending this motel to others. Congraulations to the owners for offering their guests free WIFI a rare find in NZ we have found so. The motel is located a little way out of the town proper, just a nice strolling distance. The railway line out the back of the motel was not an issue as we found the rooms to be soundproof once all doors & windows were closed. Thankyou for a lovely overnight stay.

“Modern, nice motel”

karen m, Reviewed December 15, 2013

The quality of motel was very good
Only stayed one night as we were going on to Christchurch. The quality of motel was very good, clear large room. The owners very friendly and concerned about guests comfort.

Would certainly stay again if we had the chance.

“So lovely!”

kjbrown23, Reviewed December 18, 2013

I couldn't have had a better experience
I couldn't have had a better experience. We traveled from California and stayed one night, but had emailed back and forth about accommodations with the owners. They gave us clear instructions on how to get there and what to do (because we arrived after hours). It's a short walk from the ferry terminal. We got a large room with a kitchenette, big bathroom with couples bathtub, and beautiful view of the mountains behind. The bed came with an electric blanket to help offset the cold weather (we visited in October). Small, clean, cozy. I would definitely recommend staying here primarily because the owners are super polite and accommodating. Thanks for reading!

“Good Place To Stay”

HK_Observer, Reviewed December 28, 2013

Warm welcome and friendly staff
Warm welcome and friendly staff. Good clean basic motel. Location at the edge of downtown is good (10 mins walk to the foreshore). However, note that the north-south rail line is right outside the back of the motel. The occasional train trundles through and makes its presence felt largely through rumbling. We are early risers but late sleepers might dislike that. As seems common on the South Island, internet service is metered; the free allocation for each stay is 200 MB, and many people's smartphones easily eat through that in one day. Additional MB are reasonably priced, fortunately ($5).

“Nice units, very comfortable bed!”

Chri5R, Reviewed December 31, 2013

large bathroom with a great shower
The units were spacious, large bathroom with a great shower and very comfortable bed!
Friendly and helpful staff. Good location just 5 minutes walk from main area and waterfront and 10 minutes from ferry and train station.

“Saved the best till last!”

Trish K, Reviewed December 10, 2013

I will be recommending you to everyone
We travelled up from Christchurch, towing a large fully laden trailer, staying overnight and catching the 7am ferry to Wellington the next morning. I had booked everything online and let the Motel know we would need an area to park the ute and trailer in overnight. We arrive just after 6pm and to hubby's delight a coned off area was ready and waiting. Heaven.

We were shown to our unit, right opposite the ute and trailer, and left to make ourselves comfy! And we were more than comfy. This was the forth motel we'd stayed at in four days and my husband summed it up well - you saved the best till last!

Well done guys - I will be recommending you to everyone. I know where we will be staying when be come back!
Trish & Jeff

“Broadway Motel”

David C, Reviewed November 27 2013

Room very good with comfortable bed and excellent shower
Stayed two nights in second floor room. Room very good with comfortable bed and excellent shower. Staff friendly and happy to offer advice on places to eat etc. Hotel easy to access and is 5 minutes walk to center of town for cafes and all activities associated with Queen Charlotte Sound.
Only small demerit is that if you are a light sleeper the occasional freight trains (one or two per night), which run near the motel, may wake you up. Woke us the first night with window open, but closed the window second night and no further problem.

“Nice clean motel”

casoak, Reviewed November 30, 2013

Stayed in one bedroom studio unit, it was clean, comfortable and modern, handy to town,
Stayed in one bedroom studio unit, it was clean, comfortable and modern, handy to town, and supermarket, not far from ferry, pleasant staff, plenty of parking on site, Picton is a nice town, all in all a good experience.

“Picton”

Marian A, Reviewed December 4, 2013

This motel was excellent. Very comfortable.
We stopped off in Picton after travelling from the North Island. This motel was excellent. Very comfortable. Close to the supermarket and an easy walk into the lovely town of Picton. Friendly staff. Great wifi, not always that available in NZ, a must for travellers. We had a sunny balcony for an early evening glass of wine. We liked it so much we booked it again for our return journey.

“Broadway Hospitality”

Robert B, Reviewed November 3, 2013

Great hospitality and friendly staff
Great hospitality and friendly staff made our 2 nights at the Broadway Motel a very pleasant experience. Our somewhat unusual request to have a large trailer parked on the property for security reasons, was met with " absolutely no problem ".

Many thanks to Gill, Henry and the team.

“Just Right for Us”

905Julia, Reviewed November 4, 2013

There was a GREAT shower, The staff couldn't have been nicer
My husband and I drove directly from the ferry to the motel and were able to check in immediately - very nice since we were tired and cold.
The rooms were clean, comfortable and inviting. There was a GREAT shower (not something that we had found in some of the places that we had stayed in). We were able to wash, dry and iron several pieces of clothing - nice to have something right out of the dryer!
The staff couldn't have been nicer - we appreciated their help in booking a tour to Doubtful Sound. All and all a great place to stay. Julia & Steve

"Lovely Stay”

Jude M, Reviewed November 6, 2013

We found it to be close enough to Town to buzz up and down, handy to bush walks and yet still quiet.
We recently spent 3 nights at the Broadway Motel, and can find no fault. Our room was beautifully serviced and the staff very pleasant.
The Spa Bath a real bonus. We found it to be close enough to Town to buzz up and down, handy to bush walks and yet still quiet.
Thank you all for making our "get-away-long-weekend" a very enjoyable one !!!
P S I would love to know the brand of your pillows !!! They are great.

“Awesome night at Broadway Motel Picton”

Steve S, Reviewed November 12, 2013

From the moment we arrived until we left our experience was superb
We were looking for a 'pampered' night for our last one after our southern road trip before back to Wellington, reality and the kids :)

After quite a bit of searching my partner fell in love with the description of the honey moon suite (especially the spa bath) at the Broadway Motel Picton. From the moment we arrived until we left our experience was superb, the rooms presentation was outstanding and all amenities were just as required.

Situated right in the centre of town all amenities were a short drive (or walk) away, yet the room was still quiet and relaxing.

The description of the room and the photo's we found on line were accurate - always a worry when you look for accommodation online. The proprietors were very friendly and well accommodating!

Thank you for a wonderful end to our trip!

Room Tip: The honeymoon spa bath rooms are the bomb!

“Broadway Motel”

AllenMorrisWPTNZ, Reviewed November 15, 2013

descent shower and didn't hear any noises from neighbouring rooms.
stayed only one night, the owners were friendly and helpful. the rooms clean and tidy.
descent shower and didn't hear any noises from neighbouring rooms. across the road from the supermarket and a short walk to the waterfront

“Broadway Motel”

Sue W, Reviewed November 20, 2013

Good shower and clean and tidy room, quiet, and cover for the motorbike.
We stayed one night - arrived without a booking late in the afternoon - owners very friendly and accommodating and even gave us a discount because the only room they had left was for a family and there were only two of us.
Good shower and clean and tidy room, quiet, and cover for the motorbike. Supermarket across the road, garage close by and just a short stroll to shops and waterfront.

They were helpful with advice on food and entertainment in the area.

We will definitely stay there again.

“Overnight stay before catching the train.”

Bruce H, Reviewed November 21, 2013

The room was fabulous. Very modern and clean with a really comfortable bed.
The room was fabulous. Very modern and clean with a really comfortable bed. The shower was particularly impressive being of a wet room walk in style and a very generous size.
Some other motels we stayed at in NZ did not have a teapot, the Broadway did and we were very grateful because tea just doesn't taste the same when it's brewed in a cup!

“Very nice motel”

MHfamily, Reviewed October 29, 2013

Very well laid out and looked after rooms
Excellent and friendly service. Central location, easy walk down to town and the waterfront.
Very well laid out and looked after rooms with heat pump, electric blankets, free wifi, kitchenette (dishes, fridge, microwave etc) etc.
We stayed in one of the family units and wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

“In the heart of Picton”

dooragan, Reviewed October 28, 2013

We very much enjoyed our short stay.
This motel is well located and pretty much in the main shopping and dining area of Picton. The rooms seem very new and fresh and are furnished beautifully.
Very friendly and efficient staff present a clean, tidy, well equipped and lovely hotel.
We very much enjoyed our short stay.

“Excellent stay”

PaulandNatalie, Reviewed October 19, 2013

I would not hesitate to stay there again or to recommend to anyone
We stayed for one night at the Broadway Motel. Our room was very clean and modern. Motel is in a excellent location. I would not hesitate to stay there again or to recommend to anyone staying in Picton.

“beauty”

Rose F, Reviewed October 20, 2013

Lovely room, spectacular view and very comfy bed.
Thanks so much to the broadway motel crew, just what we needed after a gruelling 24hours.
Lovely room, spectacular view and very comfy bed. We were recommended what local restaurants were good to eat at and found the irish pub to be delicious and good value.
Would definitely recommend this as a place to stop over and check out the sounds.cheers for the hospitality guys:)

“Tom and Rachel”

Tommy N Rachel E, Reviewed October 20, 2013

Staff very friendly and helpful
Very impressed with the Motel and appreciated the free upgrade due to the fact that it was our Wedding anniversary.
Very modern and close to cafes and shops. Staff very friendly and helpfull. would certainly recommend Broadway Motel. Thank-you.

“Excellent Place”

Richard G, Reviewed October 14, 2013

This place is worth staying at so give it a try.
We stayed one night after crossing on the ferry from Wellington (three hour trip). The room was clean and well appointed. Bathroom facilities were clean and the towels were soft. Bead comfortable. Nearby are excellent shops and cafes in walking distance from the motel. The Owner was helpful and gave us some useful information on traveling to the West Coast of the South Island. This place is worth staying at so give it a try.

Room Tip: All rooms are located in excellent positions.

“A perfect choice in Picton.”

shevnorthants, Reviewed October 13, 2013

A perfect choice in Picton, highly recommended
Stayed here for one night and found this motel to be of a very high standard. Clean, comfortable and in a central location. A perfect choice in Picton, highly recommended in a very nice little town which we wish we had more time to enjoy.

“Very Nice Motel”

Bill G, Reviewed October 13, 2013

Price was inexpensive when compared to other motels in the area.
Our stay before and after hiking the Queen Charlotte track was excellent. Very Comfortable with microwave, tv, dishes et al. Gracious owners. Price was inexpensive when compared to other motels in the area.

“Great Motel”

jennie_2, Reviewed October 11, 2013

I have stayed in other motels in Picton and found The Broadway motel to be the best by far
I stayed for one night on a wet cold evening after getting off the ferry. I was greeted very warmly by one of the owners and taken to my room. The heater was already on so it was nice and cosy for me. The rooms are really clean and nicely decorated, perfect for a nights stay to break up a long trip or for longer stays. The motel is located right in town, close to everything.

I have stayed in other motels in Picton and found The Broadway motel to be the best by far, I would not hesitate to recommend and would defiantly stay again!

Thanks!

“Excellent service”

Beckel45, October 8, 2013

Would without reservation recommend to friends and family
All round excellent service very clean and tidy staff were very helpfull for our needs. Would without reservation recommend to friends and family and happily stay again also the meal discount at the local restaurant was well received
Thanks guys see ya in the future

“Wonderful place to stay”

Tiffany P, August 27, 2013

It was by far the best place we stayed at on our trek
We arrived in Picton fresh off the ferry from Wellington, and were at the motel door in less than five minutes. We were greeted by Jill, who is a wonderful and refreshing woman. She walked us to our room and gave us a tour of our room and recommended some good places to eat. Our room was very clean, tastefully decorated, and very comfortable. It was by far the best place we stayed at on our trek down the islands. We met a another guest in the parking lot, and he raved about the motel, so we felt really good about our choice to stay there. It was walking distance to the harbor, a park, a mini golf course, several restaurants, the supermarket, and a gas station. We wished we had stayed there longer than one night. They had 110V plugs available, which was really convenient. I had also previously sent them an email as we were initially planning on taking the later ferry, and I received a response to my questions very quickly. You can tell the people who run this motel are very proud of it and their customer service.

“Best motel we've stayed at in a long while.”

Robin S, 25 August 2013

Absolutely clean with excellent fittings and joinery
Excellently designed room with great views of Picton from the upstairs verandah. Absolutely clean with excellent fittings and joinery. The complimentary chocolates left on the table for us was a nice touch and the coffee sachets supplied were a brand we had not seen before in a motel and were easily the best tasting we had experienced. Very friendly staff and altogether excellent.

Robin and Bernice S

Room Tip: Better views from the first floor.

“Modern, clean, excellent location”

Ski_Wanaka_NZ, 26 August 2013

The shower was probably the best I have EVER had
We stayed just one night at the Broadway and found it excellent. We paid for the night on Wot If, so check in took all of one minute. Heating was on when we arrived, room was modern clean and comfortable with everything you need (except no tea towel which was strange - but sure they just forgot). The shower was probably the best I have EVER had (better than ours at home!).
Good location, all in walking distance to town, cafes and sea side. Definitely worth checking out!

“We would certainly stay again”

Brian D, August 22 2013

Great bed(s), shower etc. We couldn't fault it.
Very spacious spotlessly clean studio unit with comfortable seating in the lounge area. Booked by phone from Cook Strait ferry on a dark, rainy Sunday night. Excellent phone manner in spite of interruptions to phone reception. A very friendly welcome from Donna at reception. Great bed(s), shower etc. We couldn't fault it.

“Best motel I've stayed at in NZ”

Allan W, August 23 2013

Friendly as well as helpful staff
Very well designed and appointed unit. The studio unit was warm & spacious as well as having a comfortable queen sized bed. A large shower cubicle was an added bonus. I found that the motel was very clean and tidy. The continental breakfast that I had ordered was most satisfactory and reasonably priced. Friendly as well as helpful staff. My stay was for just one night while passing through. I would definitely stay at this property again.

“Best NZ Motel”

NickMurphy, August 23 2013

It's really inspiring to see some hotels can get it so right!
An excellent motel in Picton. It's really inspiring to see some hotels can get it so right! Welcoming owners with good environmental policies, clean and comfortable rooms, with all the mod cons including a good range of Sky channels. Situated on a corner, I was pleased it was also so peaceful and rooms were well insulated for sound and weather. Meal options are offered, and the motel also has a discount arrangement with a local pub for a discount at dinner. (However, we walked down to Café Cortado for dinner - one of the few Picton places open after the recent earthquakes in Seddon). The Broadway Motel is highly recommended and I will return.

“Janine”

Janine L, August 14 2013

It was absolutely wonderful
It was absolutely wonderful. Very comfortable, It had tasteful relaxing decor and it was well equipped with all I needed in the kitchenette. The cleanliness was noticable from first sight. This comes from someone who is extremely fussy. I felt very welcome upon arrival and I will definately stay there again.

“Clean, friendly and quiet.”

Nigel H, July 21, 2013

We enjoyed a peaceful and quiet two night's stay
My wife and I spent Friday and Saturday night in this motel. The staff were wonderful, friendly and helpful without being overfriendly or intrusive. Our unit had a separate living area, a large double bed and a well appointed bathroom with a spa. We did not bring our car on this trip so were pleased to find the place was close enough to the town centre and the ferry terminals for this to not be a problem. Despite our stay taking place during a weekend we enjoyed a peaceful and quiet two night's stay and would certainly return here by choice.

Room Tip: We were upstairs and I think that creates more privacy and quiet. We were in the middle of the block...

“Friendly service, nice room and convenient location.”

KimKalene, July 16, 2013

Staff were friendly and happy to help.
Just did a one night stay. Was more than adequate for our requirements; comfortable, clean, warm, great shower and handy kitchen facilities. Staff were friendly and happy to help. Supermarket across the road which is useful and close to ferry. Thanks. Kim and Steve

“Comfort and Ease”

Fiona T, July 14, 2013

Rooms very clean and warm
Very friendly and helpful service. Let us check in early. Rooms very clean and warm. Family room has two rooms. One with two singles and a double in the lounge. Great shower with a hair dryer.
100 MB worth of free wi-fi for 4 devices over 4 days, easy to access and great for checking email, the news, weather etc. Much appreciated. Good parking and at the quiet end of the main street with an easy stroll to town. Will stay there again.

“North Island Bound Larry”

Larry T, June 30, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay here. Room is excellent, and immaculately clean
I really enjoyed my stay here. Room is excellent, and immaculately clean. Henry was very friendly and helpful. Free internet was appreciated as its not always so elsewhere. Bed very comfortable, room warm,great shower, sunny and quiet. I would certainly recommend Broadway Motel and will return.

“Great place for a stop over”

Rebecca H, June 11, 2013

I was so impressed with the lovely staff, who all whent out of their way to make us comfortable
We stayed here the night before our sailing, I was so impressed with the lovely staff, who all whent out of their way to make us comfortable. The rooms are lovely, clean and warm, which is very important as we have two small children. Their website is very clear and imformative (very user friendly) and there are no hidden costs!
The Broadway Motel is on the main street of town, so an easy walk to cafe's, resturaunts and super market (and bar's if your without the children) :)
We enjoyed our stay in the comfortable beds and would definitly stay there again! Great way to break up the long trip from the north to the south.
Thanks Broadway Motel for our great experiance :)

Room Tip: Have a look through the website, they are very imformative about their room selection.

“Will definitely stay again!”

Bob J, June 8, 2013

Our host had already warmed the sizeable and well set up unit.
After a 6am start from Tauranga, a 5hr plus drive, and the ferry crossing, we were looking forward to a nice evening in Picton. Our host had already warmed the sizeable and well set up unit. We asked about the various eating establishments, and our host's recommendation was chosen, and our meal thoroughly enjoyed. The motel has good off street parking, and just a few minutes walk to the centre of the town. We had a great nights sleep, and choosing to have a break in our journey was the way to go. A great stay on all aspects.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business

"A great stopover in Picton for the ferry and the wines"

AntarcticBound, 20 May 2013

The room was spacious with a small lounge area.
After looking at a number of motels in Picton to stay for a few nights, we chose the Broadway. We are glad we did. The room was spacious with a small lounge area. The room was sunny and the owners were extremely helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were clean and well cared for. There was a supermarket across the street and it was only a short stroll down the street to restaurants and cafes. There is a guest laundry and internet is available.

“Visit”

Davidgb44, 16 May 2013

Spacious and clean with good motel facilities and good value for money.
Stayed at Broadway Moptel Picton for one night whilst touring the Malborough region on 18 April 2013. Found the accommodation to be well cared for,spacious and clean with good motel facilities and good value for money. We will return the next time we visit Picton.

“Perfect in every way!”

Nicola M, 12 May 2013

Was perfect for us. Clean and very homely. Extremely comfortable beds
Came up from ChCh to see family with teenage son. Was perfect for us. Clean and very homely. Extremely comfortable beds & our son loved the pull out bed! Locality was excellent & would definitely stay again.
Thanks everyone @ Broadway Motel!!

“Great motels and great hosts”

Allison475, 10 May 2013

We find the units excellent, clean, sunny, fully self contained and quiet
We have stayed at the Broadway motel several times now, the most recent in March 2013.
We find the units excellent, clean, sunny, fully self contained and quiet. location is very central with only a short walk to the shops, restaurants the waterfront and there is a supermarket across the road. We were on a cycling holiday and they went the extra mile to accommodate our circumstances. We will certainly be staying here the next time we need accommodation in Picton.

Room Tip: We have always had a downstairs studio room facing North, has been quiet, convenient and sunny.
Broadway Specials  Broadway Specials

For the latest Summer and Winter Specials available
at Broadway Motel, be
sure to check out our specials page for hot deals.

Room Types Broadway Motel - Picton Accommodation - Room Types

Great selection of room-options which are available to choose from when booking online.

Book Now!