Broadway Motel Picton
113 High Street, Picton, New Zealand
0800 101 919 or +64 3 573 6563
TripAdvisor Reviews and Awards

Read or Write Guest Reviews for Broadway Motel Picton

Archive

Reviews

"Recommend"

Groupa85, Reviewed 28 Mar 2017

Definitely recommend the Broadway Hotel. I've spend two weeks touring through the South Island, my wife and I spent two days here doing the wineries before jumping on the ferry for Wellington. The rooms are spacious and clean, the beds are comfortable and the hotel is within walking distance to Picton Town center . the staff are welcoming.

"Great Location"

Distraction14, Reviewed 24 March 2017

We were travelling in a group, this is a Great place to stay, good location, nice clean rooms and comfy beds. Great showers. Would recommend to anyone visiting this area. Easy walk to shops, and restaurants. Good access to ferry terminal.

"10 out of 10"

mtorrance14, Reviewed 23 March 2017

Came over on ferry,had booked one night ended up staying 3.Room was comfortable and very clean. Great location,easy walking distance to shops and restaurants.Very friendly and helpful staff .Would highly recommend it.

"Best Sleep in New Zealand"

davquayle, Reviewed 22 March 2017

Janet and I were on our "holiday of a lifetime" in New Zealand and had just completed our time on the north island. We decided to stay in Picton for 3 nights before starting our tour of the south island and the Broadway Motel proved to be a good choice for our short stay in the area. Our room was modern, comfortable, clean and tidy and the staff were efficient and friendly. Throughout our 4 week tour of NZ Janet and I stayed at various hotels and B&B's but I can safely say the Broadway Motel gave me the "Best sleep in New Zealand".

"New Zealand Vacation"

frogH20, Reviewed 21 March 2017

Very nice . Knowledgeable staff in advising what to see. Motel was very comfortable, clean and convenient to Picton sites. We were able to get everywhere we desired by foot. Would recommend to others.

"Clean and comfortable"

Amyls86, Reviewed 17 March 2017

Room was well furnished, clean and comfortable. The location was good, it was an easy walk down into Picton to where all the shops and restaurants were. Plenty of parking on site and staff were friendly and helpful with restaurant recommendations.

"Excellent Motel"

Paul U, Reviewed 11 March 2017

I have stayed in Picton many times, to catch the ferry back to the North Island. This was the first time I stayed in Broadway Motel and instantly thought "what have I missed on previous visits?" Excellent, modern motel, great friendly staff, very clean and well furnished rooms - need I say more? I know where I will be staying on future visits!

"Very Good Accommodation"

codcake, Reviewed 9 March 2017

Hotel is located at the edge of Picton making it quiet in the evening but convenient to the shops and restaurants two block away. Staff is friendly and accommodating. Room was clean and the bed comfortable. Price is reasonable.

"Great location in Picton"

dugyoda, Reviewed 7 March 2017

We stayed one night in an accessible 1 bedroom unit. The wet room was great for my wife who is In a wheelchair. The grabrails were also very good. We also loved the balcony with the afternoon sun. There is a supermarket down the road.

"Very nice motel, in beautiful setting"

betspeitis, Reviewed 5 March 2017

The studio I stayed in was very cosy & comfortable. It was well equipped with all the necessary amenities & 2 TVs, one opposite the bed, & the other in the dinning/sitting area. The scenery all around was simply breathtaking! Mel, one of the owners who ran the place is a very nice lady, & she was kind enough to allocate an upstair studio for me at my request. She was friendly, & helpful throughout my 4 nights stay. If I ever go back to Picton, I would readily choose Broadway Motel as the place to stay.

"Clean and Comfortable"

MaryNM56, Reviewed 5 March 2017

We stayed at the Broadway for one night as a stopover between Wellington and Christchurch. This was a really nice place with a central location. Large room and exceptionally clean, stocked with all the essentials. When we checked in we were given guidance for the local restaurants and activities. Very friendly and helpful reception in getting to our rooms. We would definitely stay here again.

"just good, no fancy"

An V, Reviewed 4 March 2017

Nothing to reproach here but why did they install the balcony for? It is just on the main road with a lot of traffic. ( double glazed window, no worry for sleeping, thanks). How could you imagine sipping your cup of coffee on the bistro table and chairs there? You would not even imagine you could use them to dry your swimming suits and towels as they could drop into the street easily. No way to relax enjoying any view, then we had to go out for that. So, we felt like being in a .... motel really.

"One bedroom family room"

JunksterAlberta Reviewed 1 March 2017

The room had a queen, and 2 single beds. The room size was nice for 4 adults. Very clean and quiet with good location. You get one GB of free wifi. The be prepared to dig deep for extra. Not good for teens who stream everything.

"Great Place"

Earthmother88, Reviewed 28 February 2017

We were greeted by a very friendly place after a long 8 hour journey from Christchurch. (State Highway one is currently closed so we had to go the long way round). We had booked a family room (2 separate bedrooms) and a bathroom. Very well presented and clean, warm and inviting. There was a little kitchenette as well for us for tea and coffee and keeping our food cold. Great position for walking to the shops and the ferry. Nearly opposite a supermarket as well to stock up on. Great cafes as well which were very accommodating to families.

"GJM"

Glenn M, Reviewed 21 February 2017

Great friendly service. Clean & tidy room. Good view from balcony. Close to supermarket and handy walking to restaurants, bars etc. if I visited Picton we would be very happy to stay again. Highly recommend this hotel to anyone with a family wanting to visit Picton and stay for a night or two.

"Great Place"

Rod A, Reviewed 21 February 2017

Nice place nice people, the only thing was we went into town for breakfast and when we returned our room had been started for cleaning and our fridge contents were thrown out, some un opened. We thought check out was 10 am, we hadnt handed in our keys

"Fine little place"

RoadMode, Reviewed 17 February 2017

Clean room, good cross-ventilation, pleasant staff, quiet location within easy walking distance to all bars and restaurants in town. The bed was comfortable. I liked this motel's location and outward appearance much better than its main competition in town. No question, I'd stay at the Broadway Motel if I were in Picton again.

"Great place"

Greig N, Reviewed 17 February 2017

Nice quiet clean and new. Friendly manager. Walking distance to store pub and the ferry. Fully contained rooms with everything except food. Thats knives spoons dishcloth toaster coffee press. Lots of parking and safe neighborhood.

"overnight stay"

whitepele, Reviewed 2 February 2017

a bit pricey but excellent facilities, very clean and modern, stayed for one night and found everything we needed in the room, shower had excellent pressure would recommend this hotel for any short stays while transiting the North and south islands.

"Great Quality & Value in Picton"

OB-Traveller, Reviewed 31 January 2017

We stayed at the Broadway Motel for six nights while walking sections of the Queen Charlotte track. We found it excellent in every way and was one of the best motels we stayed at during our six week stay in New Zealand. The motel is a modern facility and our studio room on the upper floor was roomey, comfortable & clean, with a small balcony. We found the Wifi and guest laundry to be excellent. The motel is just down the main street from both a grocery store & a petrol station and handy to both the ferry terminals & the highways out of town. Above a the motel had an air of being very well managed with the front office & house keeping staff being friendly, courteous and helpful. Our stay was great value too.

"Excellent place to stay"

The_Bikers2, Reviewed 30 January 2017

Very comfortable and really helpful staff. Many thanks for the use of the garage - a real bonus. Great location too with everything you need only a short walk away. Rooms clean and well maintained. Ferry a short distance away. Restaurants and bars five minutes walk.

"A great place to stay"

55kelly, Reviewed 28 January 2017

Great location in walking distance to town, supermarket and lots of eating places. Friendly staff and lovely clean and tidy rooms. We were a group of 5 who stayed in two different rooms, one before and one after the Queen Charlotte track. Both rooms were well kept and really clean and modern and fitted us in comfortably.

"Serviceable - tight room, but met our needs"

Bill S, Reviewed 28 January 2017

There for one night - room for 5 - tight space but serviceable. Also provided car park for n extra night while out to the Queen Charlotte track. Friendly staff, easy stroll into town for dinner and jetty to catch the boat.

"Value for money"

Yung T, Reviewed 20 January 2017

The rooms were clean, comfortable and well lit. Reception staff were friendly and very helpful. Reasonably priced, and convenient location close to shops and ferry terminal. Would definitely recommend.

"Very Clean and comfortable motel. Very friendly staff"

XMOS69, Reviewed 19 January 2017

Great for families, Very clean and comfortable hotel. Staff is very welcoming, very nice and friendly. Price is reasonable. Family rooms are available. I recommend this place if you are in Picton and stay overnight.

“Bliss on Broadway”

gizwee, Reviewed 14 January 2017

Wow!! home away from home, if you want the perfect motel the Broadway has it in bucket loads. The staff are exceptional, they certainly go out of their way to make your stay, the perfect experience. The rooms are fantastic, tastefully decorated, with everything you could possibly need. Meticulously clean, the bathroom was amazing. The bed was to die for, so much I asked the owner, where he brought his bed from. I wanted to take that bed home. As I have titanium rods in my back, I don't sleep well. Here I slept like a baby so I'm buying the same bed. Great location there's a supermarket, pharmacy, coffee shop straight across the road. A 5min walk to town, so don't take your car, fabulous gift shops,the best coffee shops ever. The view what can I say, outstanding so come on! what do you have to loose. Come and have fun in Picton, and stay at the best,motel in town the Broadway. I know you won't regret it. Wendy Bowden Room Tip: Although the Broadway is on a corner, from inside there is no street noise, which is perfect. See more room tips Green Features: The Broadway is environmentally friendly which is awesome to see. All the staff have been trained, on green practices.

“Comfy stay”

Jennbee, Reviewed 11 January 2017

Only had one night at the Broadway, in a spacious family unit. Liked the Sky movies, good wifi, new sink and the balcony. Please note that if you have trouble carrying luggage to note this when booking, so you could ask for a ground floor unit.

“Convenient and clean”

kayee775, Reviewed 5 January 2017

Close to grocery and ferry. Quiet, but the a/c didn't quite make it into the bedroom. Modern update and nice kitchenette. Very friendly staff,but a bit overpriced, even though we were there right before Christmas.

“Awesome Service Lovely Motel”

Shellosh, Reviewed 4 January 2017

We had a lot of changes for our trip and the staff at the motel did their upmost to accomadate us as much as they could at this busy time of year! The motel was clean and spacious with a lovely balcony for views. The shower was also great with awesome pressure. Thanks for being so great to us.

“Comfortable room, friendly staff”

Cassandra R, Reviewed 2 January 2017

Room was comfortable and very clean, however a wee bit below value for money.Staff were wonderful, very friendly and helpful. Location was excellent, right in town with shops, restaurants and bars all within walking distance.

“Glad we stayed here.”

Michelle A, Reviewed 2 January 2017

Perfect stay for our family of 5. Very friendly and very clean, nice comfy beds and a good plunger coffee which was just what we needed on arrival. Super convenient location, enjoyed an easy walk to the waterfront to get dinner.

“Modern very clean well appointed Friendly Staff.”

barbiefrankie, Reviewed 29 December 2016

Stayed 2 nights Staff very considerate to accommodate our requirements. Great location Supermarket just across the road. Room very modern very clean. Staff very Friendly. Definitely recommend it to our Friends will be back to stay again.

“Modern very clean well appointed Friendly Staff.”

Joanna C, Reviewed 27 December 2016

Family of 3 just spent 1 night. Walking distance from Interislander (approx 700m) Across the road from supermarket made stocking up for road trip very easy. Helpful, clean and friendly, I have no hesitation in recommending.

“North & South Islands AdBlue Trip December 2016”

Mark E, Reviewed 20 December 2016

We stayed two nights but not on consecutive days but in the same room. The first night or should I say early morning 00.15am arrival off the ferry after a very lumpy crossing. All you have to do if arriving late is tell Mel the very helpful and friendly receptionist, you will be late and your room number is written on the white board and the key is in the door and lights on. Very comfortable two bedroom unit on top floor with balcony on Port side. Nice large bed and two singles. Spacious bathroom. Good size lounge. Good parking. Just a wee stroll to the CBD. Nice shower a spa bath. Reasonable rates for top motel. Thank you Mel and Henry for a really nice two nights. Will definitely recommend your establishment. Stayed December 2016, travelled on business

“Made to feel welcome on arrival.”

77capricorn, Reviewed 11 December 2016

Comfortable and nice accomodation with friendly service. Close to town centre and restaurants. Room was nice and met all our requirements. Enjoyed our stay and will be back next time when we are in Picton

“Comfortable Stay”

BVWestport, Reviewed 7 December 2016

Very comfortable and relaxing stay, loved the spa bath. Very clean, modern and quiet. Great location, easy walking distance to town centre. Reception staff were very welcoming and helpful. We will be back one day.

“Great place to stay”

Raymon C, Reviewed 2 December 2016

Situated right in the middle of Picton, is handy to everything ,quite, roomy,very clean and modern. very friendly hosts that could not be more helpful. spent 4 nights based there and loved it .well priced.

“Service plus”

Girvans3, Reviewed 21 November 2016

We booked in for the weekend whilst attending a wedding in the area. The motel is an easy walk to the cafes and bars. Its a delightful place to stay with warm friendly staff. The room was great, spacious and modern with all the comforts. Would definitely stay there again. Thanks Mel and team it was excellent. Regards Sharon

“A great stay”

JackieMikeCoop, Reviewed 12 November 2016

We were really pleased with the location
Good central motel. We stayed one night, and found the motel to be modern, very clean, with everything and more, for a comfortable stay. We were really pleased with the location, being right in Picton, but you should be aware it is next to a railway line. The hosts were lovely, and we enjoyed our unit. The shower had good flow, and was big, and the bed comfortable. We would stay here again.

“Picton has lots on offer”

Purplheather, Reviewed 17 November 2016

The motel was well-equipped, clean, modern and comfortable with free wifi
Having only ever driven through Picton to get on or off the ferry, we decided to stay a night. Picton is a great wee place with plenty of activities available. The motel was well-equipped, clean, modern and comfortable with free wifi that worked OK. Not a lot of space in our unit however for 4 adults. Do be prepared for noise from the trains as they roll on or off the ferries a couple of times in the night - they were pretty loud but I suspect they are heard all over town.

“Excellent Accomodation”

Donnaw11957, Reviewed 12 November 2016

This was easy to book, clean large rooms, very friendly and helpful hosts.good location and double glazing ensured the room was very quiet. Bed was comfortable and room very clean. Near to restaurants, supermarket and petrol station. Easy walk to the promenade.

“Great location and comfortable room”

Pudding20142014, Reviewed 7 November 2016

It's only a few minutes' walk to the water front from the motel. The cafes, restaurants, supermarkets and shops are all within walking distance. The rooms are spacious, clean and quiet. We had a wonderful stay and will come back next time in Picton. Highly recommended!

“Anniversary Road Trip down South”

Lynn M, Reviewed 29 October 2016

We stayed here after coming off the ferry , as it was the start of a weeklong road trip to celebrte our first wedding anniveresary. we alsos stayed here onthe flast nightd before returning home to Wellington. The hosts are extrely friendly, and the rooms are very very clean and modern.

“Great Stay in a nice affordable Motel”

chappys1982, Reviewed 27 October 2016

Lovely staff, pleasant clean and nice appointed rooms
Lovely staff, pleasant clean and nice appointed rooms for a very reasonable rate. Right at the top of the main street in Picton so you can walk to anywhere. We were very pleased with our stay and recommend to other mid range budget travelers.

“Comfortable spacious room”

Patrick S, Reviewed 19 October 2016

Well equipped accommodation. Family business. Highly recommended.
Very helpful friendly service. Well equipped accommodation. Family business. Highly recommended. Noise from railway did not happen too early. Very clean and tidy. Very convenient for shops restaurants and ferry.

“Very helpful”

Justine T, Reviewed 13 October 2016

The lady who took my booking was incredibly thoughtful
I booked a room for a family member who was going to be arriving off a late ferry, with a horse float in tow. The lady who took my booking was incredibly thoughtful and assured me that she would organise a park for him so that the trailer was safe. This kind of quality of service is very much appreciated.

“Excellent stay in Broadway”

brunoBonaire, Reviewed 6 October 2016

Excellent stay in a comfortable motel
Excellent stay in a comfortable motel. I specialy like the fact, that is a family business. You can see that in the details. Everything is clean and completed. Leo Hardus & Dieneke Oranje from Holland

“Favourite accommodation in our South Island trip”

ladylenn l, Reviewed 5 October 2016

We loved the room which was spotlessly clean
We were welcomed warmly by the receptionist who showed us to our Executive Studio room. We requested for a quiet room and she kindly obliged which was a lovely gesture. It was cold that night but the heater was great. There was also air conditioning which is great for summer. We loved the room which was spotlessly clean and there was a kitchen, sofa and a dining table. The bed was comfortable as well. Free WIFI which worked pretty well! The bathroom was huge and lighting and water pressure were good. We did hear the train as the motel was located near the rail line but to be honest, once we were asleep, it was okay and we did not hear any noise. And we were with a baby who woke up a couple of times but I was not affected by the train noise. The motel also provided ear plugs! A value for money stay which exceeded our expectations. Picton is a lovely quiet town and if you are doing a takeaway, check out Kiwi Takeaways. Their crumbed scallops and fish are amazingly delicious!

“Awesome Motel!”

Michaelaandjosh, Reviewed 3 October 2016

One of the best motels we have stayed at!
Such a lovely place to stay. Clean and tidy with compfortable beds and friendly helpful staff. And only a short walk away from restaurants cafes and other shops. Thank you so much guys! One of the best motels we have stayed at! we will definatley be back.

“Very welcoming.”

April56, Reviewed 2 October 2016

Very comfy bed and lots of space and facilities within the suite
Booked this from Wellington as our ferry was running late and we wanted somewhere to stay close to the ferry. Arrived after 7pm and we were made very welcome and checked in to a very comfortable room/suite. Very comfy bed and lots of space and facilities within the suite. Recommended somewhere for dinner which was excellent. Have booked for another night following our return to North Island later in the month.

“great Motel”

Simon56, Reviewed 27 Sept 2016

We were late getting in from the ferry and the owners had kindly put the heat pump on for us. The unit we had had nice touches like a heated towel rail, a good size fridge, nice bedside lamps, and good ventilation in the bathroom. Some don't!

“Great place to stay”

Taeba, Reviewed 24 September 2016

Thanks for a great place to stay, clean, tidy, and friendly staff
Thanks for a great place to stay, clean, tidy, and friendly staff. We stay here every year when sailing back to the North Island. We were unsure about this year as the last year's stay was a bit of a let down in the unit, but awesome stay this time. Thanks :-)

“Beautiful!!”

tuinz, Reviewed 18 September, 2016

What a wonderful Motel!!
What a wonderful Motel!! We really wished we could have stayed longer. Wonderful Hosts, very very helpful. Our Motel Unit was quiet, neat and tidy, fabulous shower, and a 5 minute walk away from restaurants cafes etc. we had arrived late off the Ferry from Wellington and were Welcomed to our Beautiful Accommodation by our Friendly Host. Thank you so much, we will be back. Room Tip: I have no preference here, all Units are Beautiful

“A great place to stay”

greg17tanner, Reviewed 7 September 2016

Room appeared new and was very clean and tidy. 2 minutes from ferry.
The room was great, separate bathroom, bedroom and living room. 2 TV's one in bedroom and one in lounge. Table and chairs were strong and comfortable to sit on. The 2 seater couch was also comfortable. we were in room 12. King size bed that was great to sleep on. Room appeared new and was very clean and tidy. 2 minutes from ferry. Room Tip: Ground floor free parking. Park ouside the door. See more room tips Green Features: All latest environmentally friendly.Shower was huge and was water waste friendly.

“Comfortable and quiet”

Pauline G, Reviewed 3 September 2016

It was a very pleasant place to stay, we will stay again.
We stayed 3 nights, the unit was comfortable and quiet. The unit was well equipped. The supermarket is located across the road from the motel entrance and restaurants are within walking distance, as is the waterfront. With the rail line across the road, at the back of the unit, I thought it would have been noisy, fortunately with the double glazing and thick drapes the noise from the railway was very minimal. It was a very pleasant place to stay, we will stay again.

“Broadway Motel Picton a great place to stay”

happycouple43, Reviewed 31 August 2016

We have stayed in this motel many times before. We keep going back because of the lovely clean rooms and really helpful, friendly service. We had just returned to the South Island after spending 16 days up north and this would have to be the best we had stayed in - value for money, cleanliness and friendliness. We highly recommend the Broadway. Stayed August

“Broadway Motel - Blenheim - Highly recommended”

Titikaveka4life, Reviewed 29 August 2016

Highly recommended
This is the second time we have stayed at the Broadway Motel and we have booked to stay again in February 2017. Friendly service, clean, comfortable, walking distance to supermarket, pubs. Highly recommended.

“Fantastic Location with modern design”

David D, Reviewed 21 August 2016

Clean, well serviced and friendly this place gets a nice big 5 stars
I like this place, Marlborough is my home province and I have spent a lot of my life in Picton so to stay in a really nice place that is in the Hub of the CBD was great. I was on business it had reasonable Wifi, it is seconds from the supermarket and right next door to the Z petrol station ( late night munchies) clean,well serviced and friendly this place gets a nice big 5 stars

“Quiet and easy walk to Cafe's and shops”

Steve P, Reviewed 9 August 2016

Motel was Clean and Quiet, with good parking.
Great Motel, Motel was Clean and Quiet, with good parking, Friendly Owners, Excellent location at the top of the main road. Do not offer cooked Breakfast, but is only a short walk to a couple of Cafe's that open for Breakfast. Will stay here again next time I'm in Picton.

“Great value, very clean & tidy. Highly recommended”

Derek9391, Reviewed 8 August 2016

Clean & Tidy, close to the ferry terminal.
Clean & Tidy, close to the ferry terminal. Staff were friendly & helpful. Would recommend for travelers that need to catch the early morning ferry due to its location. We arrived late and the management had emailed us the arrangements for late arrival and went to plan.

“One of the best places in Picton”

David G, Reviewed 7 August 2016

We had a good sized room and everything was in good order
Generally everything was very good. We had a good sized room and everything was in good order. There is a train line nearby, it's not bad by any means, but could be annoying for those who get woken up by the slightest of noises. WiFi data usage was limited, which appears to be the standard for most places these days. Unfortunately, uncapped data in New Zealand has an almost negligible price difference to capped, so I fail to see why a couple more gigabytes would need to cost anything at all. In saying that, we didn't use up our data cap, but we aren't heavy users. Other people may be... No other real complaints and I would stay here again, even though the location is not quite in the middle of the town, it's just a couple of hundred metres more to walk. At least we were opposite a supermarket.

“Very good, very clean, spacious.”

Treeleaper, Reviewed 3 August 2016

The people at reception were wonderful and the price was very reasonable.
This motel was very good, very clean and spacious. This motel was very good, very clean and spacious. The people at reception were wonderful and the price was very reasonable. would have no hesitation in recommending this motel to Kiwi travelers. Nothing was a bother to the staff.

“Convenient ”

Mark B, Reviewed 16 July 2016

We would definitely stay again
Overnight stay before early morning ferry crossing was great. The bed was excellent so soft which is rare in motels, clean and tidy & conveniently situated to the town & ferry. We would definitely stay again.

“Great place to stay before catching the ferry!”

jessica m, Reviewed 28 June 2016

Definatly will be coming back to stay! Highly recommended!
My family and I stayed here for the night before and after we caught ferry , great place to stop in for the night with kids, close to the terminal and comfy and spacious rooms! Loved the spa bath! Definatly will be coming back to stay! Highly recommended! Thanks

“Great motel”

Plod32, Reviewed 28 June 2016

A very tidy and spacious motel
A very tidy and spacious motel, great host and a good location. Walk down to shops, bars and restaurants and a two minute drive to cook straight ferry. Take a walk down around the harbour and take in the sights and a look at


Broadway Motel Picton
Hosts Donna & Henry Kersten
0800 101 919 / +64 3 573 6563
113 High Street, Picton, New Zealand
stay@broadwaymotel.co.nz
Qualmark Rated MANZ Member Sky TV Free Wifi
© 2017 Broadway Motel Picton - Sitemap - Admin Login - Website by Welman